1 Arthur Street and 21 Ballynahinch Street, Royal Hillsborough, Co. Down
Situated in Royal Hillsborough, Co. Down and occupying a prominent corner site in the conservation area, 1 Arthur Street and 21 Ballynahinch Street were built around 1825. By 2017 only four grade B2 listed walls were left of the original blacksmith’s forge (21 Ballynahinch Street) and associated blacksmith’s house (1 Arthur Street). In 2017, the properties were purchased by new owners. As the buildings contribute so much to the distinctive style of the Hillsborough conservation area the new owners were determined to restore the properties and have successfully restored unique features such as the lattice windows, creating work for local craftspeople in the process. Following the work, the buildings are now rented out for purposes that benefit the local community, namely a deli and a 2 bed cottage.