St Mary’s Church is a Gothic style two bay structure with a three stage tower, built in 1819 for the princely sum of £1000. Due to a gradual decline in numbers attending the church the 1989 Commission on Church Buildings decreed that St Mary’s Moynalty Church should be closed at the next vacancy. This arose on the retirement of the Rector, the Bishop of Meath and Kildare. The Most Reverend Walton Empey deconsecrated the church on the 28th July 1994.
The Credit Union subsequently purchased the property and after extensive sympathetic restoration it was officially opened as a credit union to the public in October 1997. The internal layout of the property consists of a number of offices, tellers area, kitchen, toilets, open plan meeting room and storage room.
The property has a versatile layout and will appeal to buyers looking for a unique space such as a business headquarters, a community hub or restaurant or it may be converted to a home subject to the relevant planning permission. Viewing is highly recommended.